Bill and Bonnie Daniels Firefighters Hall and Museum showcases and preserves a part of firefighting history. It is located in Minneapolis at 664 22nd Ave NE, midway between University and Central Avenues. The Firefighters Hall and Museum was made possible by a generous gift from retired Minneapolis Fire Captain Bill Daniels and his wife Bonnie, many donations, and thousands of hours of volunteer time. Volunteers continue to donate their time to ensure these critical historical artifacts are not lost.
The Museum contains a variety of vehicles, equipment, literature, and photographs related to firefighting and firefighters. Some of the permanent displays include an 1894 steam fire engine, a 1919 American LaFrance ladder truck from Mankato, and a 1932 FWD pumper built by the Minneapolis Fire Department shop. There is also an established and rotating display of area fire collector vehicles. The exhibits that the museum is most proud of are the ones built for are youngest visitors. We have a real fire pole to slide and till trucks to drive! Kids can feel as if they really are a firefighter.
There is an extensive library available for research purposes. The library contains information on former Minneapolis and St. Paul firefighters and other historical items dating back as far as the 1860′s, as well as an extensive collection of firefighting literature.
The Firefighters Hall and Museum has an event center that can be rented for functions for up 115 people. Birthday parties are extra special when held at the museum. Contact us for additional information on hall rentals.